Using web push messages to increase engagement.

Apart from the e-mail, there are no push channels that can be taken seriously. Or are there? Web push messages have emerged as an interesting addition. What does this new channel bring?

Over the past 20 years, little has changed in the dominance of email as a push channel. Neither social networks nor Whatsapp was able to change this. The limitations in reach and flexibility were too great in each case. Advertisers also shied away from dependence on a platform such as Facebook.

But within the last few years, a new push channel has emerged that has it all. In fact, WPN messages have what it takes to meaningfully complement and, in some cases, even replace email.

Explanation of terms

WPN stands for Web Push Notifications. The technology developed by Google should not be confused with App Push Notification, which enables communication in the context of apps. The pioneer here is Apple Push Notification Service (APN). There are also competing standards such as Windows Push Notification Services (WNS) from Microsoft.

How it works

WPN is a self-contained technology that enables reliable push communication between website operators and users. WPN-based notifications appear in a small window at the edge of the user’s browser – regardless of which website the user is currently browsing. The exact trigger or time can be defined by the operator. For example: open the message when the user scrolls. Automatic closing after a few seconds can also be specified.

In addition to “mailings”, rule-based notifications can be sent. You probably already know that this results in countless usage scenarios.

Tips and tricks

Do you want to send push messages? Then start collecting opt-ins as soon as possible. Set up an enticing message to the user. But be careful: when opting in, the user always has the option to block the provider. And quite a few users naturally click here. So there’s a risk that by prematurely popping up the request to opt-in, you not only risk a lousy conversion rate but conversely end up on all the more blacklists of users. Therefore, our tip: Always trigger the prompt after 5-10 seconds.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.